Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ship to ship combat rules?

Question Ship to ship combat rules?

Well, I'm pretty new to mapping, but I'm also new to Dungeons and Dragons. I am interested in building a campaign setting that is pirate-themed. I was wondering if anyone could direct me to ship-related rules, prices, tactics, etc. Are the ship combat rules too complex for a newbie DM to really get a handle on? I was thinking about maritime classes/powers, things like that. This will be a pirate/trading world, something like a fantasy British empire, where many of the big battles will be naval rather than hand-to-hand...

The only thing I'm aware of is Wizard's Stormwrack for v3.5. I'm pretty sure there was some stuff in there. It's possible that Paizo's new adventure path (first book due out at GenCon) will have some rules in it...I think it's piratey.
    M

Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar

Yep, Stormwrack is really good. Definitely worth looking into whichever system you use. Which version of D&D are you playing?

We're playing DnD 4e, and I am still trying to fill in the gaps in what we know. Though I am really more interested in creating (maps, plots, NPCs, so on) than I am in playing lately...

Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar

Well Stormwrack has a pretty good stand alone system that's relatively loosely tied to 3e. For 4e - I think the best bet is the Adventurers Vault books as they have vehicles in them. I don't have them handy so I can't tell you how far they go into the vehicle combat rules.

You need to know 4 or 5 things usually...

1. Ship speed, hardness/armour, size
    2. Weapon Range & Damage
    3. Adjusted Attack Rolls for Cannon-Like devices
    4. Weather/Conditional Modifiers (e.g. a moderately moving ship would probably reduce the effective range of a bow/spear by a range increment)