Thread: Howdy

Default Howdy

Welp,

I'm Castles, actually my name is Chris, Castles is my surname. I stumbled upon these forums when looking for points on creating a map to base my world building off for a few short stories I have in the works! Also, I've been looking at some maps by the users here and WOW. I've instantly become fascinated with this hobby (hobby? pastime? not sure what I would categorize cartography as, I know it is a profession).

I'm a graphic design student, so I know my way around PS and illustrator but as for using them as mapping tools that's a little over my head, as of right now.

I've got access to:
    Photoshop (legitimate)
    Illustrator (legitimate)
    Inkscape (Free of course)
    GIMP (Free of course)
    A small tablet (one of the older bamboos from Wacom)
    Pen & Paper

And I'm eager to learn.

Castles.
    Una Salus Victius.

You have come to the right place. The tutorials section will get you up and running in no time and since you already know some of the products you are using it will that much easier for you. Enjoy and welcome to the guild.
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

* Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

I'd recommend making a map just on your knowledge and see what you come up with before getting biased by any tutorials because you know your way around the software and are studying design as well. The reason I say this is because maybe you come up with something new and cool. If it ends as a flop then by all means dig into the tuts; there are plenty of them and maybe you learn something there that you can use in other endeavors.