Thread: Hello all.

Default Hello all.

I found this place by accident but I love the creativity of communities like these, so I thought I'd join up.

I'm a professional artist in the video game industry. I primarily specialize in illustration and conceptual design. My favorite genre would have to be science fiction but I love fantasy as well. Most of the art I do on my free time is related to a science fiction universe I've been working on for the past four years. It's a fun little hobby for me and strangely enough I've made maps of my own for it. So, I suppose I have kindred spirits here.

I haven't had time to look around as I've just joined but from the vibe of this community it looks likes it's fantasy oriented. I don't have much fantasy art, much less fantasy cartography and I'm not sure what the bias is with sci-fi here... So I don't know if I should post the maps from that here.

Anyways, it's fun looking at everyone's work.

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

Glad to have ya here; you're career is probably one of the most sought after and, therefore, you can help us amateurs make our stuff better. None of us will probably ever go into your line of work, being that we're old crusty dudes with good jobs already, but your insights and tips could be immensely helpful.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar

There's no sci-fi/fnatasy bias. We just get more fantasy maps by volume. Please do post them! Welcome to the guild.