Thread: How do I add city symbols on a map?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default How do I add city symbols on a map?

Hello.
    I am a beginner in cartography and I would like to know what is the easiest program to add city markers and symbols on an existing map? Ann a source for some markers?
    Sorry if it's a stupid question.
    Thanks

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries

hi topcat - if I had a map that needed counters I'd probably use photoshop, put the map in the bottom layer and then add a layer (or more) for the markers. Gimp would work as well, and you could also do it with Illustrator or Inkscape if needed.
    There are a lot of markers in here if you search the forum, and I have a small tutorial on how to make simple ones in photoshop. Depending on what you want you might find it here or just google for some - remember copyright issues though, especially if you want to make something professional
    regs tilt
    :: My DnD page Encounter Depot free stuff for your game :: My work page Catapult ::
    :: Finished Maps :: Competion maps - The Island of Dr. Rorshach ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

You might also take a look at the dingbat fonts you already have. Depending on what sort of markers you want, you may find what you need there: simple dots and stars, and a few abstract symbols.
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

What program will you be using?

I built my original set using the Custom Shapes that came with PS. Fonts are also another great resource (already mentioned by others here).

Putting a small Outer glow effect on them makes them show-up better on darker maps.
    Last edited by MarkusTay; 11-23-2010 at 03:06 PM.