Thread: maptools

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default maptools

does anyone here use map tools? or are there any tutorials pertaining to it that i might find for building a world map?

There are a number of folks here who use it and others as well. I know there are a bunch of tutorials on the rp-tools website that show how to use their paint tools to create a map but I think you can also create it in just about any program and open it into maptools to add all their clicky stuff. I'm no expert however in using it. I have created a few battlemaps for it but so far not a world map. I think you can do it, it just has to do with scale. From what little I think I understand you could make a worldmap and then have individual battlemaps that you would use as needed. I don't think you create one huge world that will work as a battlemap....too much memory required.

There are other tools that might do that better. Redrobes' for example might work that way.

I guess the question that comes to my mind is "What is your goal with this map?"
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

* Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

My goal is to create a detailed world map that i can use not only for my pathfinder games, but also for what i write about. The map is large, so from what i'm reading in yuor post i may not be able to use map tools for it.