Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: A Map of Ilaros

Wip A Map of Ilaros

For the past many months I have had been working on a collaborative world-building project (under the name of Darth Syntax) both as a general contributor and as resident cartographer. When the project began, I had only ever drawn maps by hand (mostly in the margins of my class notes or on paper napkins in restaurants) and making the move to photoshop was both rather daunting and bloody confusing. However, after a rather drawn out learning process I believe I have finally crafted a regional map that I am generally pleased with.

However, as I am no great expert with computer based cartography I would greatly appreciate any critiques, questions, and general commentary upon my map.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	new Ilaros map copy.jpg 
Views:	269 
Size:	994.8 KB 
ID:	1995  

Very nice!

I like the overall shape of the land, and the way you've illustrated it.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Bevel & Emboss!

Hi Sular, and welcome to the Guild. That's a fantastic map and it looks like you've tamed photoshop to your will - no mean feat.

I'm curious as to how you went about doing the forests. Did you use a dedicated brush and then do a layerstyles bevel and emboss on the result?

I have nothing more really to add except to say that this style of mapping (faux realistic) has become incredibly popular and you have done it real justice. How did you go about making the initial coastline and islands etc?

Once more, welcome to our little corner of cartograph-dom!

Hello, Sular! Hey, nice first post. Very nice. I definitely understand that steep PS learning curve (I'm still on it!!!), but I'm sure that like me you would attest to the power of this tool over hand drawn.