Thread: CC3: Starting and Scaling

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question CC3: Starting and Scaling

Hello folks! I'm brand new to CC3 and world mapping. I've gotten the software, followed the tutorials and I'm anxious to start working on my own creations.

There was very little info about scale in the tutorial so I'm not sure how to get started. I'm hoping that if I do a map, I can either:

1) Start with a region (say a continent) and then later easily place it in a global map
    2) Start with a global map and then isolate areas to work in as seperate files

First question...does CC3 allow me to do either? Secondly...what's the easier and better way to start?

- netgeist

Quote Originally Posted by netgeist View Post
    Hello folks! I'm brand new to CC3 and world mapping. I've gotten the software, followed the tutorials and I'm anxious to start working on my own creations.

There was very little info about scale in the tutorial so I'm not sure how to get started. I'm hoping that if I do a map, I can either:

1) Start with a region (say a continent) and then later easily place it in a global map
    2) Start with a global map and then isolate areas to work in as seperate files

First question...does CC3 allow me to do either? Secondly...what's the easier and better way to start?

- netgeist
    I would say:

Start with a global map and then isolate areas to work smaller. This is the method I used for me home campaign world of Auren. I strated with the Continent, and then 'zoom' into other areas to work smaller.

CC3 has a means of copying portions to a clipboard that can then be inserted into a new map. Alternately, I often save an image of the area I want to zoom into as a BMP, and then insert the BMP and trce over it to make my maps.
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!