Thread: how come it took me so long to find this place?

Default how come it took me so long to find this place?

Hello everyone.

I'm a PhD student in geography, with a life-long love of maps, mapping, mappers, mappees, etc.

I've been imagining worlds in my head since I was a kid, and lately have been trying to render those worlds visible to others. I've run into some problems, though, and googling for answers led me here.

Oddly enough, my research doesn't use cartography or GIS hardly at all (my ArcGIS skills are rusting away...), so the stuff I'm doing here is completely for fun--though I'm drawing on 10+ years of education and experience to do it.

I'm probably going to annoy people by asking questions about stuff... but I'm a well-rounded geographer and I'm pretty good at technical stuff, too, so I'll try to be an asset.

Oh, and I speak Arabic, so if anyone has any questions about the Middle East or Islam, I can probably answer them... even if the answer is "ma ba'raf" ("I don't know").

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

A man of rare talents - glad to have ya here.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

Marhaba Jaell and welcome to the guild. I'm sure you sound like you will fit right in here. We have a lot of us who just love to make maps and we have a few who are the real deal geologist type stuff. The main thing that keeps us together is our love of maps and the art of maps.

If you have any questions feel free to ask or dig into the tutorials section. I for one am happy to welcome you here.