View Poll Results: What's your favorite part?

Voters
21. You may not vote on this poll
  • The mountain ranges

6 28.57%
  • the islands

2 9.52%
  • the forests

5 23.81%
  • the names of things

6 28.57%
  • the giant river down the middle

6 28.57%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Gergia - Lancelot Schaubert's World

Guild Novice

Map Gergia - Lancelot Schaubert's World

This site's awesome.

Here's the map of my world broken down into three types (1) regular (2) the cultures of the world overlay (3) an inverted/gradient one for nighttime.

Basically I worked on this for six years. Since I'm no true artist, and had no pad (only a broken lazer mouse that wouldn't stay still), I had to zoom in until my scree = 40px or so, and used a 1px brush on most of it. Tedious. Grueling. Painful work for someone whose first language is not the brush or the pencil, but the pen. The initial outline was inked, scanned in, then traced over. Mostly photoshop. The book's the funner, easier part for me - it comes naturally.

The map wasn't an option. It just had to be done:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gergia copyright.jpg 
Views:	470 
Size:	2.08 MB 
ID:	34916

Name:	Gergia Cultures (no connects).jpg 
Views:	288 
Size:	2.22 MB 
ID:	34917

Name:	Gergia Map Main copyinvert.jpg 
Views:	255 
Size:	3.70 MB 
ID:	34919

enjoy.
    Last edited by lanceschaubert; 04-07-2011 at 12:54 PM. Reason: read the forum rules more closely.

I love the incredible amount of detail. Just thinking up all of the feature names must have taken forever.

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

I can totally sympathize with the pixel editing with a crappy mouse - that's how I used to work because I was afraid of my tablet (it called me names and stole my lunch money). But I think that what you have here is a real winner; very nice. My vote would have been for the delta so I went with my second, the forests. Mtns aren't too shabby either.