Thread: Hello

Default Hello

I am an author, not really a map maker. I am working on getting a book self published through Kindle by the end of the month. I decided to go self-publish simply because I am one of those people who likes to be an odd ball. This of course means I get to do all of the work myself. I have made my own cover image with GIMP and I am pretty adept at using the program. The problem is where I can create some beautiful images with GIMP, I am totally pathetic at making maps.

I can make coast lines,nations,towns,cities,roads, etc. I know where I want mountains,forests,plains and desert. The problem lies when I start trying to show mountain ranges. Right not my mountain ranges are quite laughable. So I am here to rummage through your wonderful forum and ask questions and hopefully in the process,I will figure out how to make mountain ranges that don't send readers and map makers alike into hysterics.

Guild Master Facebook Connected jtougas's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Welcome to the Guild. If your already familiar with GIMP then check out THIS tutorial for mountains. It's very good and makes making good mountains easy.
    I am the breath of Dragons...The Song of Mountains...The Stories of Rivers....The Heart of Cities.... I am A Cartographer....

Finished Maps
    Kingdom Of Shendenflar Campaign Setting (WIP)

Everything I post is free for use and redistribution under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 licence, except where noted otherwise in the thread.

Welcome to the guild I tried Gimp but it never worked on my computer so I bought photoshop from a friend.