Thread: What size World Map should I begin working with?

Default What size World Map should I begin working with?

First, I am using GIMP, and I am a newbie.

I want a World Map that I can zoom in on regionally and not have it pixelate so badly. However, I don't want something so large that I can't share it with the community. I am currently working with 2,000 x 2,000 at 100 dpi, but this doesn't quite seem to cut it. Will making the image larger aid with pixelation, or should I simply increase the dpi? What are the limitations on file size and scope for uploading? Should I just create individual regional maps? Any help with this matter would be greatly appreciated. I am new to map making and GIMP, and I want to have a clear idea of what I am working with before I begin.

Guild Master Facebook Connected jtougas's Avatar
    Blog Entries

dpi doesn't make any difference as far viewing your map (either on the web or on your computer) It is a setting for print use. If you want to zoom into your map without pixelation the only solution is to make your map larger. 2k x 2k is not overly large and you could go up more to reduce the pixelation issue. As far as uploading to the Guild, I believe that the max file size is 5 Mb. you can always upload a smaller version of your work here and provide a link to the full size version hosted on a photo sharing site (Photobucket, Flickr, etc). Creating individual regional maps is a great solution as well. You can make them manageable in size and still achieve the level of detail you want. I hope this helps and good luck.

*EDIT* Whoops the max file size is 5 Mb don't know why that didn't show up.
    Last edited by jtougas; 05-25-2011 at 02:59 PM.
    I am the breath of Dragons...The Song of Mountains...The Stories of Rivers....The Heart of Cities.... I am A Cartographer....

Finished Maps
    Kingdom Of Shendenflar Campaign Setting (WIP)