Thread: Photoshop Watch tower

Default Photoshop Watch tower

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to Adobe Photoshop (CS5) and creating things like this this, or really creating things at all. I am trying to map out a simple castle with four walls and in each of those four corners, a circular watch tower. I don't want much details but i want it to be understanding of what it is, i don't want to just put a simple circle and call it a day.

The shot will be from the sky, so you will be able to see the whole castle at one look. No side shots or 3D needed.

I did a google search but could not find anything. Does anyone have a tutorial or maybe just an image itself of one that i could just plop on? I am not sure the best way to go about this, like i said my photoshop skills are pretty amateur but i would give any tutorial a shot. But again, if somebody knows of a simple image i could just copy on, that would be best.

Thanks so much in advance for *all* your assistance.

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

Are you meaning something like this? It's kind of basic, 10 minutes, but I didn't want to waste a bunch of time if this is the wrong direction.

I just made a shape with the Polygonal Lasso tool, made a selection (ctrl+click on the layer in the layer stack), shrank the selection (select - modify - contract), hit the delete key then deselect (ctrl+d).
    Then I got a 100 pixel round pencil and made 4 dots for the turrets and just made a square for the gatehouse (turrets on a new layer and gatehouse on a new layer).
    Then I put a layer style on each layer of pattern overlay (some blocks), stroke (3 pixel black), color overlay of black (set overlay mode and 50% opacity), inner glow of white (set to center, not edge, 40% opacity, size of 40), and a drop shadow.