Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Greetings!

I'm new to the forum, interested in learning mapmaking for my weekly D&D game. It's play by chat, so I have some unique challenges when it comes to showing my players the lay of the land. Hopefully I'll get good quick so they see things the way I see them. Any tips for a total noob are appreciated, and tips for running a game via chat are too, although so far we're doing pretty well.

- Leylia

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries

hi Leylia, welcome to the guild ... check out our tutorial and when you're ready to map yourself post in a WIP (work in progress) thread for help and critique.

I've used fantasy grounds for playing D&D online with friends, it features dice-rolling a chat window and the possibility of showing pictures and maps (or parts of maps) to your players ... a lot inhere commend Map Tools as well - haven't tried that but it looks good and also have fog-of-war feature (not showing things your players can't see).
    regs tilt
    :: My DnD page Encounter Depot free stuff for your game :: My work page Catapult ::
    :: Finished Maps :: Competion maps - The Island of Dr. Rorshach ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

Quote Originally Posted by tilt View Post
    a lot inhere commend Map Tools as well - haven't tried that but it looks good and also have fog-of-war feature (not showing things your players can't see).
    Maptool +1 (Note that I am a fairly regular contributor to Maptool source code over the past year and a half.)

Oh.. and welcome aboard!
    My Finished Maps
    Works in Progress(or abandoned tests)
    My Tutorials:
    Explanation of Layer Masks in GIMP
    How to create ISO Mountains in GIMP/PS using the Smudge tool