Thread: First Map

Guild Novice

Wip First Map

Hi everyone, I've been lurking here for a couple days and I'm very impressed with all of the information and talent around here. After quite a bit of reading I decided to apply what I learned and take a shot at making a map. This is my version of a map that a friend made for his campaign. Done in Photoshop with a few brush packs from here and there. I'd like to add some effects to make it look like worn paper and maybe a border. Critique would be great but go easy on me, I'm new at this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Map 1.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	632.4 KB 
ID:	39009  

Professional Artist Facebook Connected Schwarzkreuz's Avatar

Welcome on Board. Try looking for the Seabordertutorial it have some ncie effects. And try some textures of http://zentextures.com/ thats my fav source. For the Borders try to google some maps of Joan Blaeu, hi did some quiet impressive stuff back there in the '60. Well 1665, those times

Guild Novice

Excellent, thanks!

Administrator Facebook Connected Diamond's Avatar

I love the little clouds drifting in between the mountains - that looks cool. One thing I'd do is lighten up the color on the mountains a bit so the details show through more. Right now they look kinda dark and clumpy.

Welcome to the Guild!

Blog Entries

Hey, DLC. For a first map I think it's pretty cool. The only thing that strikes me as looking off is the sea. Those lines in it look pixellated and pretty rough, like they were hastily drawn.

I would recommend downloading Coyotemax's paper textures - you can find them in the resource forum. Try overlaying one of those textures and messing with the blend modes and opacity. For a border you could just stroke the outside edge of the image with a dark line and then simply enlarge the canvas to make a margin. Place a paper texture underneath your map so that it shows at the edges et voila!