Thread: [WIP] Continental Map

Wip [WIP] Continental Map

So, I'm pretty new to map making. This is my first serious attempt - all my previous attempts were simply copying existing campaign world maps.

I'm looking for honest critique and feedback on improving the map as I go along. This is the first stage, it's just the outline of the continent. To get an idea of scale, each pixel of the map is five miles, and the main landmass (working name: Valantis) is a total of 9,537,395 square miles in size. All of the land you see in the map is a total of 9,775,915 square miles in size. To further help visualize, North America encompasses 9,361,791 square miles; thus you're viewing a landmass that is larger than Canada, the United States, and Mexico combined.

What are your thoughts? Is the shape of the continent interesting? If not, what could be done to make the shape more aesthetically pleasing?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Valantis_Con_Outline.jpg 
Views:	307 
Size:	194.3 KB 
ID:	39360  
    Last edited by Aldrick; 10-20-2011 at 04:43 PM.

Guild Novice

I like where you're going with this. My (unprofessional) opinion: more islands. Maybe some trailing off the eastern side, and a few more between the two larger islands and the mainland. Also, add some major lakes (if there are any).

Blog Entries

It's too "crinkly" overall. You want a few really crinkly areas, but it's best to also have some areas with somewhat simpler coastlines. In technical terms, you should try to vary the fractal dimension so it's mostly fairly low but leave a few areas of high fractal dimension. A high and overly consistent fractal dimension tends to make it look artificial in a "That came out of a fractal terrain generator" kind of way.

Hm, weird, somehow i always get a failure message when i try to view this attachement :-/
    I'm trapped in Darkness,
    Still I reach out for the Stars

Thanks for your responses!

DgtlDrgn -