Thread: Map for a PBEM strategy game

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Applicant

Wip Map for a PBEM strategy game

Hi all, Ive browsed this forum a lot enjoy the fantastic maps everyone creates, and I thought I'd try my hand at one myself, for a Play-by-email strategy/RPG game I will be running for my gaming group soon. I skimmed over jezelfs tutorials to create this and just randomly tried things as well to see what worked. Im interested in some feedback on it. Its not finished yet, hit a wall when trying to figure out how to do forests properly. Its my first attempt at map making so be brutal.

EDIT: I replied to the thread, with an update to the map, but it never posted? Wierd. Anyhoo. hes the current update of the map. Ill keep this short cause its just an edit. Ill try posting a full update later.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Chonagin Peninsula.jpg 
Views:	1203 
Size:	847.8 KB 
ID:	39400
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ekaden.jpg 
Views:	199 
Size:	804.7 KB 
ID:	39362  
    Last edited by JammerLammy; 10-22-2011 at 11:50 AM. Reason: posting issues

Very nice! Good color, clean, and readable. It looks like the highlights in your mountains got a bit blown out—there's not nearly as much visible detail on the sunlit sides as there is in the shadows. I think you could use with a bit less contrast in the mountains' shaded relief.

I'm not sure what's going on with that lake in the mountains. It looks as though a river begins in the foothills and climbs up to empty in the lake. It's possible that the river actually runs from the lake into wetlands, but that isn't how it appears, and the wetlands would probably occur out in the plain, anyway, not in the hills. In either case, that's an enormous lake to be found in a mountain range like that.