Thread: No Talent Newbie

Default No Talent Newbie

*Waves*

Greetings and salutations. My name is Julie Ann Dawson, owner of Bards and Sages Publishing. We publish roleplaying games and speculative fiction. I stumbled across this forum while banging my head on the keyboard trying to find help with maps. I have map maker software (Campaign Cartographer) that I have used for small scale projects in the past. But to be honest, I'm a writer/designer, NOT a map maker. My boyfriend insists my inability to create a decent map is directly related to my complete lack of direction sense. There may be some truth to that.

Essentially, I've come here mostly to lurk and perhaps occassionally stalk a more talented map maker to offer them money to make maps for me. Though I love reading about processes and have found some of the discussions very interesting. If nothing else, hanging out should give me a better idea of how map makers think and approach projects, so I can give better directions when I do hire someone.

So for now I'll mostly lurk, but maybe eventually I will upload one of my horrific map attempts and you can all point and laugh.

It's just practice and will to do it (and check out tutorials and things). Anyone can make a good map if they really want to. My early ones were horrific too! Anyway, welcome!

Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar

Welcome Aboard!

I agree w/Larb, all it takes is a bit of practice I wouldn't even call some of my early attempts maps, more like cartographic abominations!
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Still poking around occasionally...

Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

Welcome to the guild! As they have said above, YOU CAN DO IT! If not, you can always put in a request and hire someone!
    ~May

Just get a good set of brushes and learn to diffuse clouds and you will amaze yourself.