Thread: Hethinian Frontier Map

Wip Hethinian Frontier Map

This is a map I'm constructing for a Novel I'm in the process of writing. The destination on it are places that will be encountered on the Journey of a Train that makes stops at these town's for one week.The story is to take place over a period of one year or 52 weeks. My current concern is that I don't have enough lad mass to make that period of time. Not that the time needs to be filled out, but I do feel the geography is a bit bland and uninteresting.

I know I'm missing a Key, and a compass.

Any and all suggestions are welcome. I'm pretty new to map making, and would be thankful for any and all comments on this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Train map Lines.jpg 
Views:	116 
Size:	297.3 KB 
ID:	40205   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Map color beta.jpg 
Views:	134 
Size:	183.4 KB 
ID:	40206  

Guild Apprentice

How does the journey across the water work? Do they transfer to ship and sail out of/into Charlotte Sound?

The colors are bolder than what I normally like, but then... who am I? :-D

Default typo

52 distinct interesting places is a lot. Do you intend to depict all in the novel? If so, each gets but a modest slice of the wordcount. Or can the route extend well off-map?

Of course t'aint that the places must be a week apart, but that they be SoMe reasonable separation, with the stay in each to be around a week. That cuts the needed distance a bit; you might could get away with but a few hours of travel between each. If you lament the scarcity of territory, do you intend to extend what you have, broader?