Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: [Award Winner] Fractal Terrains Pro Tutorial

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Tutorial [Award Winner] Fractal Terrains Pro Tutorial

    The original post title and location is a little hard to find so here is the link

    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=1746

    which contains this link to tutorial

    http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/CGTutorial/index.html

    Essential viewing for any FT user.

  2. #2
    Guild Journeyer
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Foster City, California
    Posts
    156

    Praise Many thanks!

    I had given up on FT Pro, but this helps greatly.

  3. #3
    Guild Novice vooood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Osijek, Croatia
    Posts
    10

    Default

    There is only one problem.. I am unable to select the prescale tools in the latest versions.. They are disabled all the time.. What is wrong??
    music is my first love and will always be my last

  4. #4
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Post

    Not sure. What version are running? I was using it last night and had no issues.
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  5. #5
    Guild Novice vooood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Osijek, Croatia
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Found it. I forgot to turn on the "Allow Prescale Offset Editing" option in world settings :S
    music is my first love and will always be my last

  6. #6

    Post Making a New Projection

    Can anyone help me make a Icosahedral Projection for Fractal Terrains Pro? Lest you think I have any idea what I am doing, I only know "Icosahedral" since its in the export options. However, I would like to save my FT PRO work to CC2, since icosahedral projections work so well with hexes.

  7. #7
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,738

    Default

    In FT Pro, use File>>Export World>>Cosmographer Template to get a CC2 file with the data in an icosahedral projection and an image to go in the background. There is currently a bug in most recent version of FT that's preventing the automatic linking of the bitmap to the CC2 file so you'll need to do that by hand, unfortunately.

  8. #8
    Guild Artisan Greason Wolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tigard (and Florence) Oregon
    Posts
    735

    Post

    Maybe it's just me, but as I read through that tutorial, there was a part that called for Tools>>Actions>>Incise Flow. I'm using FT Pro Version 2.2 and I'm not seeing that tool anywhere. Is there a newer version that I don't have?

    GW

  9. #9

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by waldronate View Post
    In FT Pro, use File>>Export World>>Cosmographer Template to get a CC2 file with the data in an icosahedral projection and an image to go in the background. There is currently a bug in most recent version of FT that's preventing the automatic linking of the bitmap to the CC2 file so you'll need to do that by hand, unfortunately.
    I think I've just found that bug -- whenever I try to export, all I get is an odd X-shaped red blotch on my Cosmographer template. Can anyone tell me how to link by hand, as suggested above? I haven't the foggiest.

    thanks,
    Howard

  10. #10

    Default

    The latest version is 2.3.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •