Thread: roadside battle

Default roadside battle

Hi, I am trying to make a set of maps to run an online D&D game using d20pro because you know friends move away so it makes it hard to run a D&D game. Well, I am new at using any program (I remember a bit of Design In from highschool but that's about it) I also have a Bamboo Connect graphics tablet new at using that too (so odd look at the screen instead of down, also is it useful to even have one of these for making maps?). I have access to GIMP, trial Photoshop CS5 Extended, and Autodesk SketchBook.

First of the maps I am trying to make is a roadside battle, think scottish highlands. I don't know really where to beginning... I did make this

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	roadside.jpg 
Views:	286 
Size:	2.88 MB 
ID:	42704

But now I am at... What do I do? Is this what I am trying to do? and lots of AGRS! and/or sighs.

I think that is an excellent start.

You probably need a grid. In Gimp, this is how I do it (there's probably a much better and easier way – please let me know if you find it).

1) make a new transparent layer over your current layers, and call it GRID. Then fill it with white, so you can longer see you map.
    2) Go to FILTERS > DISTORTS > MOSAIC.
    3) In the mosaic options select SQUARES, tile size 100, tile spacing 1, tile height 1, tile neatness 1, colour variation 0. Make sure to untick COLOUR AVERAGING, or it will be a disaster.
    4) Now you have the opposite of a grid, with white squares over your map. Select the 'Select with Colour Tool' in the toolbox and select the white colour, then press delete. Now invert the selection (SELECTION > INVERT) and drag the black colour (or whatever colour you like) onto the main image. Now you should have a black grid over your map.