Thread: The Obligatory Noob Hello

Default The Obligatory Noob Hello

Hello! So, why am I here? I'm a rank amateur mapmaker, although I've sketched the occasional map and/or blueprint going as far back into childhood as I can remember (pirate treasure maps, space stations, spaceships), mostly by hand despite not having art skills developed much beyond the stick figure level. I also used to do tabletop gaming and needed the occasional sketch for that. A few years ago, while plotting my first novel, I realized I needed some maps and blueprints to help me visualize the world I was designing, so I experimented briefly with AutoREALM for the land design and MS Paint for a town map and a house blueprint. That was...educational, but I think I'd rather slam my fingers in a door repeatedly than try to do any serious mapmaking in Paint again. I have GIMP and have played around with it a little bit, but aside from using some of the Script-Fu filters for turning pictures into "oil paintings" and the like, I really have no clue what I'm doing in it. I enjoyed poking about with AutoREALM but had to learn most of what I figured out about it via trial and error, and since it didn't appear to have an erase feature (or at least I never found it), that limited what I could do with it. It has an undo feature, but sometimes I wanted to make changes to my map several minutes after adding a whole bunch of other things to it, and I couldn't find a way to go back and change that one bit without having to undo everything else I'd done afterwards. The lack of an "erase" feature in AutoREALM was what led me to do the other map and blueprint with (*shudder*) Paint.