In this post I want to open up a discussion about distinctional Styles in the CG-community. I am interested in how you devellop your own style and what are your thoughts about it; where does the inspirations came from? The Motivations? And what are the unique moments and decissions that forme your own style? Is it important to have a Style?

Those Questions are a fundament for an open Discussion about the origins and the desires of our mapmaking. I have been growing ever since founding this Forum in Mid-October last Year. Now I would also like to giving back with an active participation in the forum. Ok, now I will start this with my own personal View.

I started drawing maps since childhood, by understanding that a map is a representive of the World, my lifelong fascination was founded. I slowly growed up with Dungeon maps in old SNES Games like Secret of Mana (Seiken Dendetsu) and many more and adored the Books that were included in ther german versions with detailed floorplans from all levels. My first active exploration of isometric perspectiv in visual medias was with 8, when I visited an exebition of the Brueghel, exspecialy of Jan Brueghel the Older, the Satin and Hell Brueghel, and his painting/remake of "Triumph of Death" I was imidatly stuck with awe, a event of such intensity that alterate my stand in life forever since.