Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nosgoth, my first try...

Default Nosgoth, my first try...

This is my first try, still a work in progress. I have to say thanks to Pasis for his great tutorial, otherwise this wouldn't have been drawn.
    This is a revisited map of Nosgoth, the world from the Legacy of Kain seires. It is not labeled yet, and I still have to work on some details, but I'd like to know what you think about it.
    Also I'd like to ask ome advice. Since it has pretty complex textures I find that adding some parchment or cloth texture to add a drawn effect results in a chaotic result.
    I'd still like to add some texture and a coherent border, any hints? Also, what do you think about color and brightness?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nosgoth.jpg 
Views:	4473 
Size:	1.25 MB 
ID:	43113  

Ok, perhaps the solution was right in front of my eyes and I didn't see it...
    I tried to remove the noise and clouds levels. Since there are a lot of textures I don't seem to need additional random variation to the terrain. I think the result is more polished and clear. What do you think?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NosgothNoNoise.jpg 
Views:	2495 
Size:	1.30 MB 
ID:	43116  

Awesome first try at the style, Morgan. First your questions - the color & brightness work well, especially the second version. Only trouble is you're going to have the dickens of a time putting labels in and getting them legible without taking over the show. The lighter texturing of the second one will help with that, plus as you say there's plenty of variation already; too much starts to muddy the look.