Thread: TheBigBlueFrog

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Apprentice TheBigBlueFrog's Avatar

Default TheBigBlueFrog

Hi there, CG. My name is Tim. I'm a graphic designer with 20+ years of experience, mainly in print advertising design. I've worked for a local newspaper for 20 years, supplementing my income with a little web design and some freelance advertising design.

Me and maps go back a long way. Even as a kid, I was fascinated with maps. We traveled a lot up until I went to college, and I collected maps from all of the states and points of interest that we visited. My favorites were the plastic mountain terrain maps of parks like Rocky Mountain National Park, but those were few and far between. Mainly I just had a lot of fold-up maps.

I drew maps of the area surrounding my home in rural Alabama, populating the maps with killer squirrels and dangerous snakes. I also buried "treasure" and drew elaborate treasure maps. My mom and dad are still finding my lunch money buried all over the yard. When I got into roleplaying games as an adolescent, my favorite part was drawing maps. I would kill you for a scrap of graph paper, and I took geometry in 8th grade mainly as a ruse to get my parents to buy me an entire pad of graph paper. After college, in the mid to late 90's, I got into making maps and texture hacks for video games like Myth and Myth II: The Fallen Lords. I developed some nice pattern files for Photoshop that I still have tucked away on a CD somewhere.