Thread: Exploration mapping strategy

Guild Apprentice

Question Exploration mapping strategy

I'm beginning work designing the a world for use with a 4E gaming group. The big thing I wanted to get out of the mapping strategy is starting with a small local map. The key is I'd like to be able to grow the map as they explore, gain new pieces of information, etc. I didn't want to necessarily map the entire thing out right out and then just remove the fog, but have the flexibility to design on the fly as I need.

Any suggestions of map styles that are easier/more difficult to do with this goal in mind? Has anybody done this and run into any sorts of problems or difficulties?

Thanks in advance... this is my first thread here and I'm fairly new to mapping.

If you use software like photoshop or Gimp, then you have the capacity of expanding the size of the canvas. So you can start with, say a village and if your group move east, expand the canvas to the right and draw in what they find. It hadn't occurred to me before but this is a nice way to make a map that evolves with the direction the group moves in.

The downside is when the map starts getting a lot larger, the detail will be lost (and in fact will look like a mess) if you zoom out too far, but if you're thinking of printing your map on paper then because print resolution is much higher than screen resolution, it shouldn't be too much of a problem until your world gets really large.

My advice is that it can be done in this way, but you need to keep a close eye on resolution / point sizes for fonts etc.

The alternative is to have a map at a smaller scale for the macro stuff and make individual maps at a larger scale for the micro stuff.

Welcome to the guild!

Guild Apprentice

Good points... I think perhaps the best bet might be to keep an atlas scale map and then develop individual maps for regions/cities/towns that are particularly important to the campaign.