Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Highthrall Cityship

Wip Highthrall Cityship (Metropolis)

So I've made a few excellent city maps by completely wiping old city maps (Dublin, Berlin, etc.) and adding my own names to it. This is my first attempt at doing a city map from scratch, and I'll be sharing the process with you here. If it turns out awesome, then perhaps I'll do another one with a tutorial. At any rate, here is the first portion, which consists of the background and the coastline.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	highthrall-1.jpg 
Views:	127 
Size:	1.55 MB 
ID:	45693
    Last edited by Janden; 06-16-2012 at 04:59 PM.

Guild Member Facebook Connected

What is that last grey bar on the coast line? At first I thought it was a wall but it's a little irregular to be a city wall.

Quote Originally Posted by angellus00 View Post
    What is that last grey bar on the coast line? At first I thought it was a wall but it's a little irregular to be a city wall.
    Yeah, the innermost wall is just the coast. It's thicker because I wanted to be able to see it better when zoomed all the way out. The image is about 5000px wide at full size. The straight parts along the shore are docks and such.

Wip

So I changed the coastline to make it more simple and easier to see, then added some gradients to the ocean, plus a river. My next step is to add roads. I'll start with the larger ones that seem to have no purpose, as cities tend to come from settlements, and the first roads are usually built out of convenience or with specific terrain considerations. The planned roads are built after those, so that's how I will add them to the map.

Name:	highthrall-2.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	1.51 MB 
ID:	45697
    Last edited by Janden; 06-16-2012 at 03:49 AM.

Wip