Thread: Hi, I'm a newbie, my husband got me interested

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Novice Facebook Connected Raederle's Avatar

Post Hi, I'm a newbie, my husband got me interested

I'm a freelance digital painter, photo editor, health consultant, nutritionist, graphic designer and copy editor as well. A mouthful, huh?

I do all of these rather on and off as the clients come and go, and sell my nutritionally complete meal plans full of unique recipes off my website. Every other year or so I go to an art convention and sell some art. I craft people unique hand-made gifts.

I'm an artsy person who has a passion for health and wellbeing. (I almost died of a stomach ulcer at the age of sixteen. It kinda hooked my interest.)

My husband and I love fantasy novels, video games, and you guessed it -- fantasy maps.

I just finished "wallpapering" his entire workspace with fantasy maps from all his favorite settings: middle earth, midkemia, skyrim, the witcher, etc, etc, etc. And I also printed off a lot of maps from this forum and deviantart. Just in black and white, and then carefully used a mixture of glue and water to paper the walls in a practically seamless artistic fashion. The effect is dazzling. I should post some photos some time.

Anyhow, all that map hunting triggered a deep desire to make maps. I'm already a digital painter, so making brushed and such has just come somewhat naturally.

I've already downloaded every brush set I could get my hands on that looked hand-drawn. (Not to fond of the representative graphics that are box-like and such.)

I especially loved some particular brush sets I found on this forum and decided to join the forum. And here I am.

My website is thus: www.raederle.com