Thread: Abraon - WIP

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Novice Facebook Connected Todd Payne's Avatar

Wip First Map - Abraon [WIP]

So this is my first attempt at mapping on anything other than a piece of paper.

I used Tear's wonderful Saderan tutorial - which basically entailed me relearning a lot of things I already knew about Photoshop. Honestly, going from photo-retouching to mapping is not as easy as it seems.

Anyway...

This is Abraon (the Gaelic word for "April" with a direct translation of "rainfall"). It is the world that I write short stories in; however, most of my stories have been set around the one area (southern area of the main continent, near the large lake with the island in the centre) and I'd never fully mapped the rest of the world. So it is a work (and world) in progress.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Abraon-WIP.jpg 
Views:	158 
Size:	3.69 MB 
ID:	46674
    Last edited by Todd Payne; 07-18-2012 at 03:03 AM.

Rejigged the rivers - and a couple of mountains - because I wasn't happy with them.

Now to work out map-markers and labels...

Views:	102 
Size:	3.73 MB 
ID:	46684

If you are going for a realistic touch of a map, I would add some more sub-rivers to the existing ones. If this is a map over the whole world, and if the size of the planet is similar to earth, then the mountains may be too huge or beveled.
    Overall, I like the colors, and the texture on the ground and forest are nice. Maybe to much depth on the forests though.

But this is my personal ramble of course. It's always hard to judge the work of others, because nothing is right or wrong.

Overall, the continent is about the same size as South America.

I'm still not 100% happy with the mountains - though I seem to sway from too bevelled to too soft. So that'll take a bit of work. And I definitely agree with the forests. Again, trying to find a happy medium.

But thank you for the feedback