Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pilgrims Progress Map "Rough"

Guild Journeyer Facebook Connected rpgmapmaker's Avatar

Wip Pilgrims Progress Map "Rough"

When I found this site the other day I got excited by the wonderful maps being made here and so I began making maps.

I was commissioned by a friend to make a map for the dream world created by John Bunyan in his novel "Pilgrims Progress" back in 1678.

Like most fantasy novels some of the printings included maps… but none of them are very good (IMO).

But when I was first asked to make this map I had no idea where to start… and I am still very new to this type of graphic work so… anyway here is the WIP.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pilpro_map1a.jpg 
Views:	3961 
Size:	306.4 KB 
ID:	3522

I really like the look of some of the rock walls but I think that look, for rock should be for a smaller scale map... must be a rookie mistake... this is just the first draft so after I hear some feedback I will take another stab at it.

-Chris

Very nice!

As for the rock walls, I guess it depends on what scale you're trying for. Since the journey is metaphorical, the scale need not be too realistic. But if you're trying for pure realism, then it might be good to ask for a scale.

I spotted a couple small things:
    • Should "Wast Land" be "Waste Land"?
    • Does the path go under the Sloth of Despond? It might be good to show caves where the path goes into and comes out of the ground, if indeed that is what it's doing.

I like the overall aesthetic. The palette brings to mind both 17th century England and the Biblical holy land.

What software are you using?

I like the notion of mapping Pilgrim's Progress. I've seen a few maps, but most of them were story maps more than geographical, like this one:
    http://gracebiblechurchofconway.com/...msProgress.JPG