Thread: Need some help with my world.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help Need some help with my world.

What i would LIKE to do, is something like google maps, where you have the overhead view, but can zoom in to see a closer view. not exactly to the level of detail in google maps, but to a topographical point where you can zoom in on where a city/town/village might be. i dont need the program i design this with the have the functionality of google maps, i just need something that will let me design an entire planet with i little bit of detail for zooming in.

i have no idea what program i could use, i'm very new to this world/map designing thing. any and all tips and suggestions would be helpful immensely.

i actually have a fair bit of detail written out for this world, if someone was even willing to design it for me that would be awesome.

Hey! Looks like you're a new member, so welcome! This sounds like a really interesting. I've been looking into this myself, so maybe I can help out. If you don't need the functionality of google maps, you could try doing something with Flash, or layered images on a webpage. It would also help to have a vector map of the world, rather than a raster image, so you can build the map and then zoom in and out without losing the clean lines. I guess a couple questions:

1) How many "zoom levels" are you interested in? do you want to be able to zoom in to see individual buildings, like google "map" view? Or do you just want to zoom in far enough to see most streets (like google "map + terrain" view?
    2) Do you have a whole planet you're "working down from", or do you have various areas/regions that you'd want to have zoomable maps for, and then you'd add to those?
    3) How big is/are the area(s) you want mapped for zooming?