Thread: Hand drawn maps to scale

Default Hand drawn maps to scale

Greetings,

I'm an artist, I remember once drawing a map of my state in grammar school. I enjoyed the experience and would like to do some map making by hand now. I'd like the maps to be accurate and scaled correctly. I just don't know how to go about it. I dont want to copy another map, how do I get the info needed to do this? Is there a class I could take (NJ/NJ) in person or online?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

-Mr Limpett

Blog Entries

I think you would need to read up some history about map making and using the tools like a theodolite etc. Now its easier to use a GPS and drive around and store the path traces for the roads and landmarks and put together a map that way. I think the OpenStreetMap site has a lot of info about this and you can use their map data as a starting point too if you dont want to start from scratch. But its kinda money / resource heavy to make state sized maps accurately all by yourself without using other peoples sources, images or data.

I'm just looking for basic how-to info right now. I don't need to get the data myself, just info on how to actually draw a scaled map on paper.

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Korash's Avatar

Well, Architects, Engineers and other technical drawing type people use what they call scales. (I hope that search is still available for you) They come in all sorts of different scales so you will need to figure out which one you want to start with. You can find them, or at least the more common ones, at most office supply stores.