Thread: Linux problems

Post Linux problems

I'm still a newbie and was just wondering if anyone else has hit this problem.

I am dual booting my machine into Windows XP Pro and to Linux (Ubuntu 0804). I am running the latest Firefox browser on each.

On my XP system, I can get to this site fine. On the Linux system I get a page error every time. The site works fine for IE on XP as well. I prefer running the Linux version with the Firefox browser because it is so much faster but hate not being able to check out all the great maps here.

This is the only site that I have this kind of problems with. Anyone else having similiar issues?

Of course if you are, you probably can't read this!

Blog Entries

This one is probably for Arcana to have a look into but whats the error code. Like a 404 is the unknown page code. You might want to find out your IP address (go to whatsmyip.com) or something like that and PM Arcana and he might be able to look through the logs to see what the error code the server is dishing up.

I get quite a few errors from this site too - maybe 1 in 50 page hits or so but I just reload page and its all ok again. I have put it down to transfer volume since some of the maps are very large and other people might be looking at something and loading the server.

I have also noted that if you fetch pages too fast it stops you. But most of the time you cant see that.

Administrator Facebook Connected Robbie's Avatar
    Blog Entries

I wasn't aware of any of the above...Although I do get the occasional "Server was Reset" error...but thats pretty rare...Yes let me know what the error code is and I'll take a look.
    All Hail FlappyMap! Long Live MapFeed!

Robbie Powell - Site Admin

I finally got a chance to try to log back on using Linux and Firefox and am still getting the same error. Its the following -

Connection Interrupted

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.