Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feb Entry: Brigatines Rest

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Feb Entry: Brigatines Rest

It's been month's (probably over a year) since I last fully participated in a Challenge - I tried a few month's ago, but got too busy to finish that challenge. I definitely got an idea in mind and I'm forcing myself to fit this in, this month.

Brigatine's Rest, Barker Bay is the tentative name for this. I'm planning to create a kind of map, I've never done before, nor seen an example here, at least not off the top of my head. I am creating an isometric cross-section map.

This will be some cove or bay with rocky, silty sea floor with a partially buried (in the sand) brigatine pirate ship sunken at the bottom of the bay. Since the ship is buried in the silt, doing a cross-sectional map will depict the buried portion of the ship, also will show the layers of silt build up and cross-sections of rock and the shore. I plan to include some flowing kelp below the turbulent surf, and maybe a school of fish, shark and octopus or squid in the water.

For extra complex detail, I plan to create a rough water's surface with waves and surf crashing against the cliffside shore behind and to the sides of the map. I plan to make the water's surface only partially transparent, as a clean separation between under water and above water. Then I'll create a ravaged rocky shore with maybe a light house or captain's home on the cliff top.