Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: World Map of Veriel

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Wip World Map of Veriel

This is a world that I have been attempting to draw for a couple of years now. No idea if this will be the final shape of it, but so far I like it and am really thinking this may be 'it'. I'm hesitant to post it here, mostly because I have no idea if I'll finish (here's hoping!), but I want to see what other people think.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cart.-Veriel.jpg 
Views:	4046 
Size:	1.98 MB 
ID:	52627

That image is at 33% original size, I like working BIG I really like the ocean colors I've done and land colors. I plan on adding country/city/etc. names and maybe heraldry and other stuff.

What I'm really worried about is the mountains. What they look like and where they're placed. I'm not completely finished with them but I think I have most of the mountains in there. I was trying to go for a realistic look, but I'm not sure about them. I'm also wondering if the 'green' and 'dry' areas on the continents make sense.

Thoughts are welcome!

Guild Expert Facebook Connected vorropohaiah's Avatar

nice map and colours though on something that scale I don't think Rhumb lines makes much sense. graticules would be better on a world map.

I'm not really familiar with the terms rhumb lines and graticules. After a quick google search I'm guessing the rhumb lines is from the compass I have, and graticules would be the grid thing? I'm partial to the rhumb lines but I think I see what you mean. I'll try it out

I believe it may have something to do with the projection you are using for your world map which makes the rhumb lines inappropriate. While I like the way rhumb lines look, I think they work better for more regional maps.