Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is in a City!!!

Default What is in a City!!!

Hey Everyone,

I am only new to all this. I have had a large interest in maps and mapping for some years, mainly thanks to my Father. Sadly he has passed away too soon and has left me with all of his hand drawn maps, which is amazing with such detail. This has urged me into mapping as some sort of Hobby. I have bought CC3 with CD3 as well as Fractal Terrains 2or3 i forget... My main focus right now is creating a grand city and I have some idea as to what I want it to look like. But I need some help, and what better place to get help then from this great community. What I ask of you is to help me list what a grand medieval type city needs and generally where certain building would be situated, for example, would the temple me placed close to the Lord's Keep or on the other side of the city.

I know it may not be much to go on, but any help would be much appreciated!!!

Thanks

Guild Expert Facebook Connected vorropohaiah's Avatar

there was a thread around here about a month ago with a pretty comprehensive list of building and things you might find in a city... though i cant seem to find it. ill keep on trying

Blog Entries

No worries... I got it! All of these professions have their own buildings (well, mostly). Remember one person might do multiple things.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Medieval Occupations.pdf 
Views:	743 
Size:	24.6 KB 
ID:	54319
    Last edited by foremost; 05-07-2013 at 12:05 PM.
    The best maps are the ones we like the most after looking at the longest.

I found this quite helpful when I started. If you're a numbers guy, you might like it. The full book is a fantastic read.

Guild Journeyer Facebook Connected

Also, this website has an interesting chart about halfway down that will help you estimate the approximate number of things, such as taverns or doctors, based on the population of the city.