Thread: Fantasy Writer new to cartography

Default Fantasy Writer new to cartography

Hello everyone, I am a writer and I am in the process of creating my own story world. I have a general idea so far of what some of the places look like but frankly, I don't know the first thing about cartography. It seems important to me, however, to know what this world looks like and where things are. But as I said, I don't know the first thing about cartography and I have very limited skills when it comes to drawing (by hand or with computers)

To be very honest, and with respect to it, seeing as I look through this site what a complex art-form it is, I am only interested in it so far as it suits my purposes. Frankly I don't know where I ought to start. I've seem some tutorials on how to design one using photoshop or gimp but most of these seem geared toward people who at least know how to draw something other than an amorphous blob with squiggles and dots making up the topography. I unfortunately, can barely manage that much so if there is any one who has some insight for some one with no experience in mapmaking or knows of a place that might be helpful to me, I would very much appreciate any help. Thanks for your time.

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Korash's Avatar

Firstly, let me welcome you to the Guild, The Mappiest Place on the Web.

Secondly, we have a great store of tutorials on making maps using all sorts of programs, as well as a few with Pen and Paper, that range from beginner all the way up to "OH my god I will never be able to do that in a million years". It is surprising how fast those "million years" can go by with but a little effort and perseverance if you give some of those tuts a go. If you do give it a go I would suggest that you post up a WIP (Work In Progress) in the appropriate forum in order to get some helpful comments and critique. Don't be shy about it either because we are a friendly bunch and the C&C will be of an encouraging nature.