Thread: Underground Cavern System

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Applicant Facebook Connected

Wip Underground Cavern System

This is my first attempt at mapping an underground cavern system or anything for that matter. At this point I keep looking at it and I'm just not sure where to proceed from here. Anyone have any suggestions? A little background on the dungeon. This is meant for a D&D Encounter and I plan to populate it with goblins, beetles, spiders, etc. My current thoughts are to have a group of goblins residing in the upper levels of the dungeon with spiders to the back. I may have the larger body of water housing something nasty, but not sure yet.

Thanks in advance.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Underground-Cavern.jpg 
Views:	3358 
Size:	517.6 KB 
ID:	56116

Beautiful map! For a first attempt, this is extremely impressive. I really love your style and can't wait to see an update with it populated!

The only suggestion I can make is to maybe try darkening the background a bit, so that it contrasts with the lighter cavern interior.

EDIT: By populated, I mean with elements related to the types of creatures your players will encounter. For example, some spider webs throughout, or just in the main section where they hang out.
    Last edited by Neyjour; 07-16-2013 at 11:06 PM.

Agree with Neyjour - great map. I love how clean it is, and great colours. Disagree about darkening the background though.

My only suggestion would be changing the colour of the black-bits in the background to a dark brown, while keeping the black for dirt, contours and ripples on the open parts of the complex, in order to differentiate background from foreground. I love the hue of blue for the water - reminds me of lovely old-school maps - but I would lighten it slightly and perhaps desaturate it very slightly (but not change the hue).