Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cheers

Guild Novice

Default Cheers

I am currently a graduate student studying geography and environmental science. The majority of my mapmaking has been done in ArcMap, which is a program for assessing spatial statistics/patterns. I also have a history as a photographer and artist. In creating maps for scientific publications, I became interested in combining my education with artistic interests through cartography. I have no specific interests, but I would like to design some creative maps of the real world and literary/gaming worlds that already exist. I am studying hydrology (which is studying rivers/stream networks) so if you have questions regarding feasibility of stream placement, let me know. Though I don't understand the aesthetic preferences that cartographers have developed, I do understand where streams belong based on drainage area and slope thresholds.

I'm currently working my way through Ascensions Atlas Style Map, and running into some difficulties with the layer blend (it isn't showing up). So anyone who has gone through that tutorial, and may be able to help, please let me know so I can explain my issues.

I hope I can bring some knowledge to this group and I look forward to learning from the creations you post!

Cheers!
    emarde

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Korash's Avatar

Welcome to the Guild, The Mappiest Place on the Web.

Well, emarde, it is obvious that you have found tutorials section of the foums, but I suggest that you start up a WIP (Work In Progress) thread in the appropriate sub-forum here, This is where we usually go for any questions we might have, be it tutorial, software, technique or just general questions about our maps that we are working on. Don't be shy, because we are a friendly bunch and quite willing to help without demanding that you do things "our way". We also have quite a few GIS people come here so you might even get some help with those types of questions too.