Thread: Please Critique My Rough Draft (First Timer)

Wip Please Critique My Rough Draft (First Timer) [Updated]

Backstory: The area is roughly the size of the USA. The rest of the world is uninhabited by humans and uncharted due to dangerous natives (magical creatures), which saves me from mapping the whole planet.

Alright, so this is my first time submitting. I know the quality is **** and you can't read any of the labels, so please forgive me. I expect to make changes so I'm not ready to clean it up in photoshop yet. I'm just looking for realism feedback concerning my seas, rivers, and mountains.

This is my first map ever so let the criticisms flood in!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1173882_646720725351948_1411962465_n.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	44.7 KB 
ID:	57295

Most of the rivers will serve as borders for the kingdoms I still need to come up with.

SUPER late edit: Here's a better quality photo of my original sketch.

Name:	jF0xHJu.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	643.8 KB 
ID:	57433
    Last edited by Krix; 09-02-2013 at 04:39 PM.

Guild Adept Facebook Connected Llannagh's Avatar

I would suggest that you work on the coastline first. At the moment it looks unnaturally smooth and follows the border of your sheet too much. I did the same thing with my first map, too. You should reduce the landmass and give it a more natural shape, epecially if the scale is that big.

Once the coastline has a natural flow to it, it's easier to work out the mountains, since it gives you a better idea of how the tectonics might work. From there you can work on the rivers.

I always like to have a look at Google Earth to get a grip on certain landmass-shapes or terrain features.

Guild Apprentice

i suggest you have a look at this thread: how-get-your-rivers-right-place

it seems that you don't have any mountains yet. start with the mountains (of course after you've set the landmass), they determine pretty much form rivers to climate!

cheers!