Thread: [WIP]My first black and white map

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Map [WIP]My first continent map

Hello,

I've been lurking on this forum for a while and I've read up on a lot of the tutorials. So far I've seen a lot of really good advice and I thought I would try my hand at map making.

The map I've been working on is a continent map. It is black and white and was initially hand drawn and scanned. I've been working on it in GIMP and I've had some success.

Now, I'm not very good with GIMP, but I know how to do all of the following:
    • Erase
    • Add/Delete layers
    • Show/hide layers
    • Move layers up/down
    • Select colors for the brushes
    • Use the pencil
    • Use the paint brush
    • Zoom in/out
    • Change brush size

That's it. That is the sum total of my image editor knowledge. I only list that so that you can get an idea of where my skill is with image editors.

I've posted this map to ask for advice on what to do with it. It's clear that it needs more, but I'm not sure what else it needs.

I'm planning on adding a glacial region to the top of the map, but I'm at a loss for how to draw that in black and white.

Do you have any advice for what to add/how to improve on what I've already drawn?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Map-Layeredv0.05.jpg 
Views:	178 
Size:	240.4 KB 
ID:	58276
    Last edited by James Mason; 11-06-2013 at 07:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by RobA View Post
    Do you have a tablet for drawing, or are using a mouse, or planning to hand draw/scan and composite in GIMP?

-Rob A>
    I've been using a mouse. The initial sketch was hand drawn and then scanned. After scanning, I imported it into GIMP and began tracing/editing/re-doing all of the map elements in different layers. What you see in the image contains none of the original scan, though some elements are traced from it almost line for line.

My process has been pretty simple because I'm limited in ability and lacking in talent: