Thread: My 1st Map - CC3 B&W - for my novel

Default My 1st Map - CC3 B&W - for my novel

Hey All,

I have spent a long time learning how to use CC3 to create a fantasy map for my epic fantasy novel; Dark Moon Rising. I am working on a coloured map as well as a Black and White one. Here is the B&W one as this needs to go in the novel soon.

The continents took awhile and whilst they may look funny they were created to match the continents described in the book, as are most of the mountains, forest, rivers and villages. The map is not complete but it is nearly there.

I did find that drawing in B&W in CC3 is very 'blocky' and doesn't hold the niceness of, perhaps, a hand drawn one I could create. The drawing tool - pencil size for want of a better explanation - is also quite massive. this is probably because when I started drawing the map with the map wizard I set the size to 24000 width x 18000 height because I need it large to map continents. I'm still not sure whether that size is in miles or pixels - please enlighten me if anyone knows . Also, is there a way (button, function) to see what size and/or dimensions your created map currently is? I've forgotten the original dimensions and wanted to find out.

I have also been playing around with whether it would look better with more or less stuff on it - does it look too cluttered? Would a B&W map look better with less 'stuff'?

I have not attempted to label anything yet - I'm quite afraid of this part as not sure how it is going to turn out with black writing on a B&W map! Any advice would be great.

Any thoughts, comments, advice, assistance, general knowledge, most welcome

Thanks so much

Miafeya

P.S. not sure if I should post this image as an attachment or an insert so I have attached it first. let me know if it is not viewable.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MaioriaBW6.PNG 
Views:	179 
Size:	247.0 KB 
ID:	59231