Thread: Newbie

Post Newbie

Hey everybody!
    First of all please excuse me for my english, it's not my first language, so apologies for my mistakes.
    I'm Tom, 28 years old and big fan of drawing maps. The problem is that I've never tried to draw a map on a computer, this is why I'm here

I found this forum thanks to a friend, and I've already tried to follow some of your guides (Pyrandon PDF and youtube guides), but I'm a newbie with drawing programs so I can't realize my dream (a big one indeed) and see one of my maps at the same level of those which you can find on the web.

That's all, see you on this forum

Welcome to the Guild Twonineone!

Cheers,
    -Arsheesh

I hand draw my maps before I do anything in the computer. I'd love to get to that point, but dealing with paper/pencil still gives GREAT results. Hopefully we can springboard into computer stuff together?

Thanks everybody for your welcome

@ Wombat: Till a week ago I used to draw my maps just with pencil and pen, but I think that if I have a global idea of what I want to do, using straight graphic programs is the best way to save my time. I am a hairpslitter man so I usually need to draw, delete, draw again and delete again and this can take a lot of time if I have to complete my map on paper than try to find commands on my graphic program to colour it on my PC
    In any case it will be a pleasure to start this journey together, even if I've never use Adobe or something like that, so it coul be a problem

Welcome to the Guild, Tom!

Do you know what software you want to use, or (related question) what style and type of maps you want to make?

Thanks JB

I'm using Adobe Phoshop CS6, and I'm trying to follow a youtube guide for medieval/fantasy maps. The problem is that this guide is a bit old (these videos are posted in 2007 ), so the challenge is not just trying to get a nice map, but try to find correct commands too