Thread: Hi everyone

Default Hi everyone

Hi, I'm Shayna. I came here for advice about creating fantasy maps. What I have most trouble with is scale. (Including how big forests, lakes, etc. should be and travel times.)

Blog Entries

Hi Shayna. I'm not very good with maps (or even scale) yet, but I might be able to help with travel times. It's actually a very complicated subject.

A few factors that affect travel times when discussing *walking* are: Health, general fitness, experience with walking, the terrain, the weather, what they're carrying, and the size of the group that's walking. It also depends on how long they've already been walking.

Nearly the same factors account (in a different way) for persons on horseback.

For driving, you need to estimate fuel, the terrain, the weather, how well the person knows the terrain and the weather, how often they will need to stop (those minutes getting in and out of a vehicle tend to add up), and the age/condition/type of transport.

WALKING:

The average walking speed of an average, reasonably healthy adult male, on perfectly flat terrain, unhindered, in perfect weather, is 2-3 mph / 4-5 kmph. Actually, it's neither.. it's a "league" which was originally *about* 3 miles, in one hour.

It's *possible* for the same man, under the same conditions, to walk 50 miles in one day. He would be less able to do it again the next day, unless he *always* walks all day.

There are exceptions, which only really matter for a single day - there are monks who walk all day, every day, who have reached the point where they can travel nearly 100 miles, on prepared terrain, in a day.

There's a 100 mile race, in Utah, which VERY fit/healthy individuals, carrying nothing, run 100 miles in rocky/mountainous terrain in a single day. They can't go very far the next day (maybe from bedroom to kitchen), and this is something they train for.