Thread: Hi I'm totally new and I mean totally new!!

Default Hi I'm totally new and I mean totally new!!

Greetings everyone,

My original name is Daniel Mitchell though I would pleased if you referred to me as xLegionx. I'm really glad I found this website when I was looking everywhere on the internet for a website where expert mapmakers can give me some solid advice on how to get started!

To be honest I have never done anything like this before (not that I have done my research beforehand mind you). I have attempted to draw a map on an extremely large poster and I in fact drew a big continent that spammed from one end of the poster to another. However, when I looked online at images of other maps is when I realized some of the grim mistakes I made and frankly I grew kind of frustrated with myself. But I really want to see this through; I frankly do this simply because I have nothing else better to do. I'm just one of those guys who likes to sit on the couch drinking coke and playing rpg's all day. But this is where most of my inspiration came from as I played through these games I really enjoyed how vast and well-designed these worlds were and it made me want to create a world of my own with its own laws, its own governments, and well pretty much anything hehe.