Thread: [WIP] Regional Map of Kingdom of The Thorns

Wip [WIP] Regional Map of Kingdom of The Thorns

Hi all!

This is my first attempt [and a WIP] at a regional map for a kingdom from the continent of Midderus in my fictional world of Elandaria.

[Below is a bit of context/subtext of the kingdom]

The Thorns is one of the constituent regions of Midderus and was once part of the sovereign kingdom of E'althemar before the consolidation of the War of Shadows. The region covers the entire area north of the Storm Hills and south of the Vǫrđrfell. The Thorns has been ruled by House Greyscar for thousands of years after overthrowing their previous liege lords, House Jarnos. They rule from the castle known as Ironfell. Other notable houses of the region include Wolfborn of Wolfcastle, Horntower of the Horntower, Harrowheart of the Mercy Fort, Dourspear of Drumburn Bridge and Stormhorn of Harrowtown. The border between the Thorns and the Mirelands is often disputed as House Dourspear's allegiance changes with every passing major war. It's believed they often reside with the winning side.

Geography

The Thorns is vast in size. It is the largest of the kingdoms in Midderus. The region is sparsely populated, with vast wilderness, forests, pine-covered hills and snow-capped mountains, speckled with tiny villages and holdfasts. Its climate is cold and harsh in winter and occasionally it will snow in summer.