Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Continent

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Wip Continent

Hello everyone! Working on a personal piece here intended for a game i'm attempting to create. I created the land mass loosely based on plate tectonics and land form observation of earth. Watched some documentaries on netflix so now im an expert right?... The realm borders follow natural land marks such as rivers and mountains which i also plan on doing a map version of.

i'm hoping to get some feed back on the style and suggestions for improvement. I plan on giving it a nice border next and adding more ship symbols. I dont want it to look too crowded though so let me know if i go overboard please.

Question: is it wrong to put rhumblines around a continental map? i love the look of a map with rhumblines.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Continent.jpg 
Views:	205 
Size:	1.18 MB 
ID:	62568  
    Our sense of the stability of the earth is an illusion due to the shortness of our lives.
    - Neil deGrasse Tyson

I love the colors for this map! I like the rhumblines I think they add to the style of this map. Although I do think that this map would look even better with a good border. I love this style though, a really fantastic map!

Really nice. I think you should warp the projection of the continent on the globe though, at the moment it's identical to the main map to my eyes.

I don't have any problem with rhumb lines on continental maps, though I always wonder if they're accurate (on all maps, not just continental ones). This page has a good explanation (though I've only skimmed through it), interestingly it looks like they should only be straight on a mercator projection.

Wip Progress

That is one excellent link Raptori. I have a clear understanding of how they work on different projections now. Thanks for sharing it.