Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Historical Map Creation

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Historical Map Creation

Hello everyone

First of all let me please state that in case this thread has a bad history to repeat itself, i'd kindly ask a moderator(or anyone on the forum) to guide me in the already created threads.

So to my question, recently i have developed an obsession towards making maps, and 3 days ago i decided to recreate historical maps of my own country.

The inspiration was mainly this style of map of Poland, where i'd do the maps of countries from the region, but knowing that i'm still a novice and i'd take me quite some time, i decided to make something more simpler. I grabbed a blank map of south-eastern europe, with rivers and all that, and i am stuck and dont know what to do next.

http://i.imgur.com/U9lUgdR.jpg <- something like this only in a smaller region
    http://i.imgur.com/4el4sj4.jpg <- First though of how to make in which style
    http://i.imgur.com/9feDpFS.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/3NNtkvZ.jpg <- The style i want to make it currently using the same map only blank

Can someone tell me, what is best, Illustrator or Photoshop? Because on the third map i can clearly see its made in Illustrator, but i cant seem to grasp the technique when i try it with another blank map

Thank you and cheers!

All three of those definitely look vector to me (i.e. Illustrator). It might be worth grabbing a vector map from wikipedia and opening it up so you can see how they're structured - look for maps with the extension ".svg", which means "scalable vector graphic", and you'll be able to open them in Illustrator/Inkskape/some other vector editor and see the inner workings

So i found another blank map i want to work with. But what now? how do i start making it look like professional map like the ones i posted, as specially the third one?