Thread: Hello, there. J Digory' Intro

Post Hello, there. J Digory' Intro

Hi there, everyone. The name's Digory, and I'm an ok artist with a tablet and some decent experience with it. I prefer to use Painter when using my tablet, but I am VERY comfortable in Fireworks when doing graphics.
    I play rpg games of the home-brewed variety, and I love creating the rules and the worlds that my friends and I adventure into, but for all my artistic ability, I really suck at maps. Badly I tried making a map and came up with the first attachment. It sucks. And it took me forever.
    Well, I bought some software to help me out, and it didn't get any better. *sad, sad laugh*
    The second attachment was my attempt with Fractal Mapper and many hours spent. Anyway, I came here to learn some techniques and to see some great examples of quality maps that don't look like they were handed out with an NES rpg game.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Master Alaatia.png 
Views:	44 
Size:	198.9 KB 
ID:	5699   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	The Known World sepia.png 
Views:	60 
Size:	127.8 KB 
ID:	5700  

Wecome to the Guild Digory! Great first post with maps and everything.
    Bill Stickers is innocent! It isn't Bill's fault that he was hanging out in the wrong place.

Please make an effort to tag all threads. This will greatly enhance the usability of the forums.

Welcome to the Guild!
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave