Thread: In Need of a Prorgam

Help In Need of a Prorgam

I'm making an RPG for my group based around the X-COM universe. For the Geoscape portion, I need a high resolution printable map of Earth. I've made some maps for RPGs before, but always by hand and never of the actual Earth (on a world scale, anyway), so I'm quite new to this cartography business.

In short, I need a program that can help me make a high resolution map that has a grid over it. Each grid square must be the same size and (here's the part I was having problems with) must contain the same surface area worth of Earth. This is for aircraft, so I'm not worried about rough travel or landmasses.

There will obviously be issues with poles and probably other things I don't even know about, but any help on this whole thing would be appreciated.

Even if it's telling me my method sucks and proposing something better.

Thanks for tolerating the new guy,
    Krillsack

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Meshon's Avatar

Well, welcome to the guild! A game in the X-COM universe? Sounds fantastic! I've long been wondering how to make something like that go. For the world map you could try Google Earth, though you might have to do some research to see if there's a way to put a grid of some sort on it.

Would love to hear a report about how it's going!

cheers,
    Meshon

Blog Entries

Could you describe what you are trying to accomplish more clearly and at a higher level. You've provided a bunch of rather strange requirements and I'm not sure you've correctly determined the properties that would actually help you. I don't see how an equal area map would be particularly useful for a task involving aircraft (except for very obscure things like geostatistical analysis of air accidents) or how a square grid over an equal area projection would be particularly useful.