Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Simulating Layer Effects in Gimp

  1. #1
    Administrator RobA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Niagara, Canada
    Posts
    5,567

    Link Simulating Layer Effects in Gimp

    Here is a script to simulate layer effects in Gimp. It is also available as a python plugin, which I would recommend, as it provides a preview button, and is a bit faster.

    Link is here:
    http://gimp.foebud.org/node/186

    -Rob A>

  2. #2
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Post

    okay i downloaded it and did what it said to, but nothing happened. Under Render: Clouds, I now have Fog, but that wont work at all, and thats it. Also, I thought that maybe getting a newer version might work, so I download version 2.4.6, but nothing worked on that

  3. #3
    Community Leader jfrazierjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Apex, NC USA
    Posts
    2,963

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by bryguy View Post
    okay i downloaded it and did what it said to, but nothing happened. Under Render: Clouds, I now have Fog, but that wont work at all, and thats it. Also, I thought that maybe getting a newer version might work, so I download version 2.4.6, but nothing worked on that
    On the LAYER menu, submenu Layer Effects
    My Finished Maps
    Works in Progress(or abandoned tests)
    My Tutorials:
    Explanation of Layer Masks in GIMP
    How to create ISO Mountains in GIMP/PS using the Smudge tool
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

  4. #4
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Default

    nothin under layers either....


    oh and what i meant when i said that v.2.4.6 wouldnt work, i meant that everything i try to do on it crashes

  5. #5
    Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4,162

    Post

    I have to say that I'm with bryguy on this. I have downloaded the python plugin and placed it in the plugin folder and I do not get any Layer Effects sub-menu. My guess is that my windows XP system doesn't have python installed. Any ideas?
    Fantasy Map Blog | My food illustration
    Everything I post is free for use and redistribution under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 licence, except where noted otherwise in the thread.

  6. #6
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Default

    i have mac osx leopard, maybe thats why it wont work for me?


    eh, maybe i should try the .scm....

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Post

    still cant get the python one to work, but the scm one works great!

  9. #9
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Default

    also, i started googling to see if i could find more scripts, and i found this:
    http://www.gimphelp.org/script24.shtml

    download at the bottom

  10. #10
    Guild Journeyer Sagenlicht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    249

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by bryguy View Post
    still cant get the python one to work, but the scm one works great!
    maybe you have to reinstall GIMP, cause if you do a normal installation without having python and GTK installed on your system GIMP doesnt install everything you need for the python script to work.

    Install everything from the link RobA provided, then reinstall GIMP and be sure to do a full installation. Afterwards the python script should work.
    Last edited by Sagenlicht; 08-25-2008 at 08:46 AM. Reason: some typos

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •